Master of Arts in English Program Faculty

We look forward to working with you.  Visit an individual faculty page by clicking on the link.

If you are hesitant to email one of our faculty, here's a quick "How to email a professor" blog.   All MENG Faculty have earned terminal degrees.
 

Hal Crimmel, Professor

Ph.D., University at Albany, SUNY
American Literature
Environmental Literature
Western American Literature

MENG Program Director
Elizabeth Hall 456
801.626.8044
hcrimmel@weber.edu

Kathleen Herndon, Professor

Ed.D., Vanderbilt University
Teacher Education
World Literature
Children's & Young Adult Lit

Chair of English Department 
Elizabeth Hall 435A
801.626.6217
herndon@weber.edu

Russell Burrows, Professor

Ph.D., Bowling Green University
American Literature
Western American Literature



Elizabeth Hall 458
801.626.7817
rburrows@weber.edu

Shannon Butler, Professor

D.A., University of Michigan
Teacher Education
Young Adult Literature



Elizabeth Hall 461
801.626.6623
sbutler@weber.edu

Timothy Conrad, Associate Prof.

Ph.D. Indiana University of Penn.

TESOL Teacher Education

Intercultural Communication


Elizabeth Hall 257

801.349.5418

tconrad@weber.edu

 

Gary Dohrer, Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Teacher Education 
Young Adult Literature

Elizabeth Hall 462
801.626.7318
gdohrer@weber.edu

Judy Elsley, Professor

Ph.D., University of Arizona
British Literature
Biographical Writing

Elizabeth Hall 426
801.626.6801
jelsley@weber.edu
 

Becky Jo Gesteland, Professor

Ph.D., University of Utah
American Studies
Western American Literature
 
Elizabeth Hall 449
801.626.7083
bgesteland@weber.edu
 

Sian Griffiths, Assistant Prof.

Ph.D., University of Georgia
Creative Writing
American Literature

Elizabeth Hall 429
801.626.6259
siangriffiths@weber.edu
 

Janine Joseph, Assistant Prof

Ph.D., University of Houston
Creative Writing
Postcolonial Literature

Elizabeth Hall 442
801.626.6629
janinejoseph@weber.edu
 

Mark LeTourneau, Professor

Ph.D., Purdue University
Linguistics


Elizabeth Hall 243
801.626.6386
mletourneau@weber.edu
 

Susan McKay, Associate Prof.

Ph.D., University of Utah
Linguistics
 

Elizabeth Hall 258
801.626.7506
smckay@weber.edu
 

Karen Moloney, Professor

Ph.D., UCLA
British Literature
Irish Literature

Elizabeth Hall 443
801.626.6251
kmoloney@weber.edu

Julia Panko, Assistant Prof.

Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Literature and Media
Brit and Irish Literature

Elizabeth Hall 463
801.626.6596
juliapanko@weber.edu

Victoria Ramirez, Professor

Ph.D., Binghamton Univ.-SUNY
Creative Writing
American Literature

Elizabeth Hall 235
801.626.6669
vramirez@weber.edu
 

Scott Rogers, Assoc. Professor

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
18th & 19th  Cent. British Literature
Popular Culture Studies

Elizabeth Hall 448

801.626.7502
srogers@weber.edu
 

Samantha Seal, Assistant Prof.

Ph.D., Yale University
Medieval & Renaissance Lit
British Literature

 
Elizabeth Hall 453
801.626.6543
samanthaseal@weber.edu
 

John Schwiebert, Professor

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
American Literature
British Literature
 

Elizabeth Hall 457
801.626.6289
jschwiebert@weber.edu

Sally Shigley, Professor

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
Critical Theory
Creative Writing

 
Elizabeth Hall 428
801.626.7617
sshigley@weber.edu 
 

Mahalingam Subbiah, Professor

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
World Literature
Cultural Studies

                         
Elizabeth Hall 464
801.626.6335
msubbiah@weber.edu
 

Mikel Vause, Professor

Ph.D., Bowling Green University
British and American Literature
Romantic Literature

Elizabeth Hall 225
801.626.6659
mvause@weber.edu

Michael Wutz, Professor

Ph.D., Emory University
American Literature
Media Studies

Elizabeth Hall 455
801.626.7011
mwutz@weber.edu

James Young, Professor

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Teacher Education
American Literature

Elizabeth Hall 459
801.626.7902
jyoung@weber.edu

 

Weber State UniversityOgden, Utah 84408

Privacy PolicyTerms of UseNondiscrimination Policy