

BOARD OF TRUSTEES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

WSU Ogden Campus – Miller Administration Building, Betty Hess Lampros Boardroom – 319 3850 Dixon Parkway, Ogden, UT 84408

Wednesday, March 13, 2024 | 2:00 PM

Executive Committee Members:

<u>Excused:</u> Keith Titus, Vice Chair

Karla Bergeson, Chair (via Zoom)

Don Salazar (via Zoom)

Other WSU Trustees:

Rob Higginson (via phone)

Attendees:

Brad Mortensen, President

Stephanie Hollist, General Counsel & Board Secretary

Sherri Cox, Executive Assistant

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Karla Bergeson, Chair, at 2:04 p.m. Chair Bergeson welcomed all in attendance and asked for the identification of any potential or perceived conflicts of interest after reviewing the agenda. Hearing none, the meeting proceeded. Chair Bergeson acknowledged that according to the agenda, the board would be moving to a closed session. She reminded everyone that if their answer changed regarding potential or perceived conflicts of interest during the closed session, to just speak up.

Pursuant to Article VI, B.(5)(d) of the WSU Board of Trustees Bylaws, Brad Mortensen, President, appointed Rob Higginson, Trustee, to serve as an Executive Committee member during the meeting due to the absence of Keith Titus, Vice Chair.

Closed Meeting Session

Chair Bergeson discussed moving to a closed session as per the agenda, with a reminder that following the closed session the group would return to open session for approval of the action item on the agenda. Chair Bergeson moved to hold a discussion of the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual, as per Utah Code Ann. § 52-4-205

(1)(a), which was seconded by Don Salazar, Trustee. A roll call vote of the Executive Committee Members to move into closed session took place with Chair Bergeson, Trustee Salazar, and Trustee Higginson all voting "yay." The vote was unanimous.

ACTION: Upon completion of the discussion during the closed meeting, the meeting attendees returned to the open session.

Approval of Honorary Degree Recipients and Commencement Speaker – Spring 2024:

After returning from the closed session, Chair Bergeson turned the time to President Mortensen who recommended that Craig Oberg, Jane Marquardt, Jodi Smith, and Rainn Wilson receive Honorary Degrees, with Rainn Wilson giving remarks as the guest speaker at the spring 2024 commencement.

ACTION: Upon a motion by Trustee Higginson, to approve Craig Oberg, Jane Marquardt, Jodi Smith, and Rainn Wilson as Honorary Degree recipients, with Rainn Wilson participating as the guest speaker for spring 2024 commencement, with a second by Trustee Salazar, the motion was unanimously approved by the Board of Trustees Executive Committee.

Announcements / Observations / Questions:

Chair Bergeson thanked everyone for their patience during this process.

<u>Adjourn</u>

With no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.