

BOARD OF TRUSTEES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

February 28, 2023 – 11:30 a.m.

Miller Administration Building | Betty Hess Lampros Boardroom - 319 Hybrid Meeting

Executive Committee Members:

Ms. Kearston Cutrubus – Chair (via Zoom)

Ms. Karla Bergeson -Vice Chair (via Zoom)

Mr. Don Salazar (via Zoom)

Other WSU Trustees:

Ms. Karen Fairbanks (via Zoom)

Weber State University Representatives:

Dr. Brad Mortensen, President

Ms. Stephanie Hollist, General Counsel & Board Secretary

Ms. Sherri Cox, Executive Assistant

Public Attendees:

No public attendees were present

Press:

No members of the press were present

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 11:40 a.m. by Chair Kearston Cutrubus. Chair Cutrubus welcomed all in attendance and introduced the Executive Committee members and Trustees present. She then turned the time over to President Brad Mortensen to discuss the agenda item.

Approval of Honorary Degree Recipients and Commencement Speaker:

President Mortensen discussed the 2023 Spring Honorary Degree Recipients and Commencement Speaker nominees that were presented for approval by the Honorary Degree Committee. The president gave background information on each person including their involvement with Weber State University, service experience in the community, and personal achievements. All of the nominees have confirmed they are available to attend the spring 2023 commencement once approved by the Board of Trustees.

ACTION:

Upon a motion by Trustee Don Salazar to approve the 2023 Spring Honorary Degree and Guest Speaker nominees, Steve Starks (guest speaker), Javier Chavez, Sr., Dr. Forrest Crawford, and Senator Karen Mayne, with a second by Vice Chair Karla Bergeson, the motion was unanimously approved by the Board of Trustees Executive Committee.

Adjourn

With no further business or items to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 11:54 a.m.